Indian Union Muslim League Kerala State

Our Inspiration

Quaid e Millath Muhammed Ismail sahib

The founder President of Indian Union Muslim League , Quaid e millath Muhammed Ismail sahib, was the opposition leader of Madras Assembly, Indian Constitution Committee member, first Rajya Sabha member and was elected to Lok Sabha three times. His political career spanned for a period of more than 25 years and is remembered for his great contribution to law making in India.

K M Seethi Sahib (1899-1961)

Former speaker of Kerala Legislative Assembly and a prominent leader of Muslim League, KM Seethi Sahib, was elected to Kochi assembly in 1928 and to Madras Assembly in 1946 and 1952. He was the founder of Chandrika daily. In 1960 he became the speaker of Kerala Legislative Assembly.

Saiyid Abdurahman Bafakhi Thangal (1906-1973)

He played a key role in popularising Muslim League. He was the president of Kozhikode town Muslim League, Malabar District President, Kerala State President and All India President. His remarkable efforts led to the formation of he UDF. This visionary was the leader of Samastha Kerala Jamiyathul Ulama.

PMSA Pookoya Thangal (1913-1975)

He was the State President of Muslim League. His active political life began with his role as President of Ernad taluk Muslim League . In 1948, during the Hyderabad Action period , he was imprisoned for a period of two weeks. He also acted as Malappuram District Muslim League President.

CH Muhammed Koya (1927-1983)

From Municipal Councillor to Chief Minister, CH Muhammed Koya's political career is remarkable for the invaluable contribution he made to Kerala state. One of the greatest leaders of Muslim League he became the memeber of Legislative Assembly for the first time in 1957. Later he was elected to Kerala Legislative Assembly in 1962, 1967, 1970, 1977, 1980 and 1982 and to Lok Sabha in 1962 and 1972. In his capacity as Education Minister, Speaker, Chief Minister and Home Minister CH contributed immensely to the political history of Kerala. He wrote more than 12 books that shows his scholarship and vision.

Sayyid Muhammed Ali shihab Thangal ( 1936 -2009)

He became the President of Muslim League after PMS Pukooya Thangal at the age of 39. For almost three decades Muslim League in Kerala was under his leadership. His contribution to Kerala politics, people, culture and secularism is invaluable.

E Ahamed (1938 -2017)

Former foreign minister E Ahamed represented Malappuram,Manjeri and Ponnani for more than 25 years in Lok Sabha. He was the President of Indian union Muslim League and served as Minister of States for foreign affairs and as railway minister during the UPA government. He was elected to Loksabha for more than 5 times. During the period 1982- 1987 he served as the Minister of industries in Kerala.

Sayed Hyderali Shihab Thangal (1947- 2022)

He was the State President of Indian Union Muslim League. He Became IUML Malappuram district president in 1990. Following death of Muhammed Ali Shihab Thangal on 1 August 2009, Hyder Ali Thangal became IUML Kerala state President.